New Business – Book Usher

In the age-old struggle of writers to somehow survive while they write, I’ve come up with a new angle.   Before I was writing grants and was doing all right,  but now there is very little discretionary funding from the federal government and most of my old clients are not calling leaving me very little grant writing work.   Time to try something new.

As I’ve gone about publishing my own books, by necessity I’ve had to learn how to make my own covers, do my own formatting, and publicity.   This involves mostly mastering Adobe Create Suites – Indesign, Photoshop, and a bit of Flash.   I also did a video on Final Cut Pro.

A good bit of advice is – if there is a gold rush you can make more money selling shovels and mules to miners than prospecting for gold.   In that vein (sorry) I’ve bought a new web address (www.bookusher.com).  I’m building a web site, and intend to offer my services to those who want help publishing their books.

The way I figure it, I can take them from the editing stage (with the help of some talented friends), to book production and publicity.   I can publish their book, if they like on Deep Six, and act as a regular publisher.  Or I can just give advice and provide production services. 

Come to think of it, I can also help them do query letters and contact agents if they want to go the traditional route.

We’ll see.

Leave a Reply

